New Health and Safety Training Requirements

The Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) has recently announced new federal training requirements designed to improve the health and safety of children. Currently, only child care providers receiving payments from the Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) have to meet these requirements. To continue to receive CCAP payments, providers must complete all training by Sept. 30, 2017.

Training Requirement Resources

DHS has created and distributed several letters and videos that offer a great overview and answer common and important questions about the new federal training requirements. Find the letter or video intended for your type of program below. These and other resources can also be found on DHS’ Child care programs webpage.



  • Letter to Legal Non-licensed Providers (DHS-3768A)
  • Letter to License Exempt Centers (DHS-3768B)
  • Letter to Licensed Family Child Care Providers (DHS-3768C)
  • Letter to Licensed Child Care Centers (DHS-3768D)

Free Trainings

Child Care Aware of Minnesota is offering several free trainings through Sept. 30, 2017, to help child care providers meet these new training requirements as they continue to improve the health and safety of children in their care. Many trainings are offered face-to-face through our local Child Care Aware partner agencies. We also offer online and on demand trainings through our Anytime Learning program.

Search and register for Child Care Aware trainings using Develop – – Minnesota’s quality improvement and registry tool. A Develop ID is required for registration.

Browse our list of available Anytime Learning trainings that meet the new federal requirements. Details and availability of trainings are subject to change.

Additional Trainings

Trainers not affiliate with Child Care Aware are also offering trainings that meet the new health and safety training requirements, but may require payment. Only trainings hosted by Child Care Aware are free through Sept. 30, 2017.